Our first snowstorm

1 12 2009

I just realized that I never posted anything about our first snowstorm since moving to Colorado. I’m familiar with these kinds of scenes, having grown up in Colorado, but my wife is originally from Panama and our son has–before now–never set foot outside of the state of Oklahoma.

The first snowstorm of the year was a doozy, and coming at the beginning of November it was a bit early in the year from what I hear. We received around 24" here in Aurora, and it was in the three to four foot range up in the high country.

Back in Oklahoma this would qualify as a disaster. We would probably seek Federal Aid. Up here in the Denver area folks just shrugged. Driving was a pain, but the road crews do a great job so it wasn’t as bad as I would have imagined.

My son thought he’d died and gone to heaven.

This move–these last three months–have been some of the most difficult and exciting of my life. There’s a weird circularity to it all. I spent my childhood here, my teen and young adult years in Oklahoma (where I was born, incidentally) and now as I enter into middle age here I am again. It’s odd. My wife and I had talked for years about moving someplace new and then one day I wasn’t going to have a job unless I wanted to relocate. I remember the day that I received the job-offer letter and relocation money. It was around the middle of July last summer. Hotter’n fuck. Probably as far away from a Colorado snowstorm as you can get and still be in the same over-extended metaphor. I remember telling my family that it was going to be an adventure.

It has certainly been that.

Actions

Information

4 responses

1 05 2010
twiens

Ah, you’re located in the Denver area? I am as well.

3 05 2010
sak6

Glad to meet you! Glad to meet anybody, really. It is difficult moving as suddenly as we had to, but I grew up in Colorado, so it was nowhere near as hard on me as it was on my wife and son. Thanks for stopping by!

4 05 2010
twiens

Ah, well, sorry to hear about the abrupt move. As bizarre as Colorado weather can be, the deciduousness of it all can be nice, eh? You’ve already “met” me, sort of-one of my poems was accepted for valenTRange, remember? By the way, how is everything coming along with that? I really support what you’re seeking to do with valenTRange and I wish you earnest of success with it.

6 05 2010
sak6

How weird is that!? Thanks for the well wishes and VR is coming…I swear to God 🙂 The problem came when someone decided that they didn’t want to have their poetry in my magazine after all. I had already cut the first issue by 8 pages due to lack of submissions, so it was kinda devastating. As small as this field is, I do have ….detractors, let’s politely say.

It will happen, and I think after I get the first (now very late) issue into some people’s hands, it will find a place in the community.

Anyway, thank you very much for reading and replying. I hope we can find an occasion to speak again. In the meantime, I hope you like my latest post.

Take care.

Scott

Leave a Reply

