Giza Is Coming!

3 06 2009

Just a reminder.  My poem “Giza” is due out in Star*Line sometime this summer, so keep your eyes peeled for that.

Related.  I see where fellow speculative poet and on-line acquaintance Rose Lemburg has a poem in the current issue of Star*Line…”Burns at Both Ends.”  She also has a poem nominated for this year’s Rhysling Award.  Go Rose!

Related to that…I finally found the issue of Star*Line that proves one of my poems was once almost nominated for a Rhysling.  You see, when I found out that Rose’s poem had been nominated I was so thoroughly pissed off, jealous, and seething with indignation happy about it that I remembered when I almost once received that honor.

I don’t have the thing right in front of me, but it was a 1988 issue of Star*Line in which a list of Rhysling Award nominees was presented (prior to the balloting, obviously).  At any rate, I can remember to this day getting that issue in the mail and my eyes popping out to see that my Poem “Sound and the Electric Ear Dream” (Amazing Stories, Nov. 1987) was on the list.  Woo Hoo!

Then I saw the asterisk.  Turns out it wasn’t actually nominated…it was somebody’s second choice.  I don’t think they take “second choices” now, and I’m not sure why they did then since the “second choice” wasn’t included in the anthology, but it was still kinda nice to know that it was somebody’s second favorite speculative poem that year.  I can live with that.

Anyway.  I have a poem due out in Astropoetica.  Not sure when.  “The Strange Attractor.”  I’m really proud of that put because I REALLY love that specpo outlet.  Click the link and check them out.  Good stuff.

Actions

Information

2 responses

3 06 2009
isaacespriu

Good times, good times. Both for you and Rose. 🙂

3 06 2009
sak6

Thanks for stopping by Isaac! And thanks for the link over at your place. Take care bro.

Leave a Reply

